Thoughts of a Canadian Exchange Student

Wulai (烏來)

Posted in Culture, Food, Money, Outdoors, Shopping, Sightseeing, Taiwan, Weather by J on December 22, 2008

Wulai Hot Springs

Wulai (烏來) was explored: May 3, 2008

Wulai (烏來) is famous for its hot springs, and luckily for the residents of Taipei, Wulai just a short bus ride away from Taipei. Although I’ve heard that Beitou (北投) also has very nice hot springs, I really enjoyed the hot springs at Wulai. Perhaps it was because Wulai is a bit farther removed from the city than Beitou.

The hot springs:
If my friends and I didn’t want to spend any money, we could have gone to the hot spots in the river, but because we could, we opted to rent a room with a private hot spring tub for a few hours. After shopping around the hotels in Wulai, we settled on a room that had a bed, a TV, and a nice bath. Split between four friends, it wasn’t too expensive either. It was about 300 NT each for 2 or 3 hours. I don’t know what is the going rate for hot springs, but I think we were able to have a pretty decent price because the day that we went was very hot. (It’s ironic that I’m writing this sitting beside 28cm of snow.)

Wulai

Atayal designs and mountain boar sausages.

A hot day + hot springs. Hahaha~ I think going to the hot springs on a hot day just made us more tired and hungry than usual. So, when we went to dinner later, it tasted that much better. Dinner was great! We had mountain boar and some sort of mountain vegetable. We tried to eat food that we couldn’t find in Taipei. It was a little more pricey for food than in Taipei though.

What I like about Wulai is its proximity to Taipei, and its representation of the Atayal culture. But it felt very much a tourist’s place. It was like I had seen all the knick-knacks before. However, if it was the first tourist place I had gone to, I’d have been enchanted.

Be sure to eat some mountain boar sausages! Mmm… sausage~

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] it’s a suburb of Taipei, and it’s much less of a tourist place than Jiufen (九份) and Wulai (烏來). Anyways, when my friend and I hopped on a train bound for Keelung, we had no idea it would rain so […]

  2. Keelung (基隆) « Travel Memos said, on October 9, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    […] northeast of Taiwan, I found Keelung to be much less of a tourist place than Jiufen (九份) and Wulai (烏來). Anyways, when my friend and I hopped on a train bound for Keelung, we had no idea it would rain […]


Leave a Reply

