Thoughts of a Canadian Exchange Student

Jiufen (九份)

Posted in Culture, Food, NTU, Outdoors, Shopping, Sightseeing, Taipei, Taiwan by J on April 19, 2008

jiufen baoxiantao

Jiufen has this lovely little “Condom World” store. (保險套世界)

Jiufen (九份) is this little town about an hour away from Taipei. We went there to check it out because, well, it’s a tourist attraction. That and apparently the town was used as a model for Spirited Away. (According to Wikipedia.)

Anyways, I found out it’s a pretty nice place to go shopping and to have some interesting food. The view is really nice too. It’s totally a tourist destination. They sell lots of leather goods at Jiufen and snacks like chips on a stick. What I really liked was this ice cream rolled into a parsley-peanutty wrap thing. It’s so Taiwan. By “it’s so Taiwan” I mean it’s so innovative. I forgot to take a picture!

Oh these were great to eat~

Aside from all the good eats, things to buy, and the view, we also went to take a look at the historic part of Jiufen. Historically, it was a mining town but now, it’s mostly a tourist destination. I hope that there aren’t any malevolent ghosts hanging around!

The ghosts did it!

Oh by the way, if you’re ever near the Zhongxiao Dunhua (忠孝敦化) area in Taipei, the food is great there! There’s a larger variety of food to eat than the food around the NTU campus. See exhibit one:

At a teahouse near Luxy: Mmm… delicious!

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Al said, on December 2, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    leafgirl,

    I stumbled across your blog when I was looking for info about Canadian students in Taiwan. It looks like you had a lot of fun!!

    Anyways, I am developing a service, Send2World.com, that lets you send text messages between Taiwan, Canada, and USA cheaply. Its geared towards international students and students who study abroad.

    If you have time, I would love it if you try it out and tell me what you think. I would be happy to let you use it for free, just let me know.

    Thanks,
    Al

  2. […] to Taipei. I think it’s a suburb of Taipei, and it’s much less of a tourist place than Jiufen (九份) and Wulai (烏來). Anyways, when my friend and I hopped on a train bound for Keelung, we had no […]

  3. Keelung (基隆) « Travel Memos said, on October 9, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    […] major port city in the northeast of Taiwan, I found Keelung to be much less of a tourist place than Jiufen (九份) and Wulai (烏來). Anyways, when my friend and I hopped on a train bound for Keelung, we had no […]


Leave a Reply

